Currently Viewing Posts in Freeware Review

Partition Master Free – Modify your Partition for Free

EaseUS has a free disk partition software. The product name is Partition Master Free. The latest version 10.8 for Windows, from XP (retired system) to Windows 10. It is also has different language version, which support English, Deutsch, Español, Français, Português, Polski and 日本語.

Actually it is made by a Chinese online software company.

I has ten Key features.

  1. Resize/Move partitions without data loss, like extending NTFS system partition without reboot to maximize PC performance.
  2. Convert FAT to NTFS file system
  3. Partition Recovery Wizard allows to recover deleted or lost partitions from unallocated space.
  4. Convert MBR to GPT disk and convert GPT to MBR disk without data loss.
  5. Support up to 8TB  GPT disk.
  6. Saftely merge two adjacent partitions into a bigger one without data loss.
  7. Copy entire hard disk to another  without Windows reinstallation.
  8. Convert primary partition to logical partition and vice versa
  9. Wipe disk or wipe partition to permanently wipe sensitive data on disk.
  10. Support all hardware RAID, removable storage device, hard disk, GPT disk and FAT/NTFS/EXT2/EXT3 file system.

I make the features I like to bolder.

 

Here is the simply steps of installation.

2016-01-27_123954

Goto above official web site to download the installation file.

The installation file name is epm.exe, about 28MB.

Then double click to run it.

During the installation, it may ask a few recommendation software, including PC Mechanic, EaseUS Todo Backup Free, etc.

2016-01-27_120129

2016-01-27_120159

If you don’t like them, you can uncheck the check mark or choose Custom installation. Then it will only install the Partition software.

On the very first screen of installation, it show you the difference of Free edition and Pro edition.

2016-01-27_120112

If you are interested in these additional features, you can try Pro edition.

I just wondering why EaseUS Partition Master Free Edition need to add a startup item, EaseUS EOM tray and EaseUS EPM Tray Agent,  into the system. I hate these unnecessary startup program. So I disabled it.

Here is the main screen of the program, when I run the program first time.

2016-01-27_120634

I tried some operation on my USB disk, which is NTFS file system format.

Such as Resize partition / Delete partition / Wipe partition / Create  partition.  No issue found.

If you need a free Partition software, I would like to recommend it.

BattleField 3 Free Download

Download BattleField 3 until June 3, 2014.

I downloaded Origin form the official site and get BattleField 3 for free.

The game is available to download until June 3, and once it’s downloaded it’s yours to keep, according to the On the House page of the Origin website.

It is a huge package, took about two hours to complete the downloading.

BattleField 3 was initially released October 25, 2011. I played the demo few years ago. Now I can play it on my PC.

It was $19.99, but now it is free.

https://www.origin.com/en-ca/store/free-games/on-the-house

battlefield3-free

 

Hurry up, only 3 days left.

StudioTax 2013 is now available

I use StudioTax to prepare my Tax Return for many years.  Actually from 2007.

StudioTax is free for everyone.  Let me quote it as below.  I recommend it.

StudioTax 2013 is the next version to prepare and file the 2013 (due by April 30, 2014) federal and provincial income tax returns including Quebec provincial returns.

StudioTax is FREE regardless of income

StudioTax 2013 and prior versions are only available for Microsoft Windows operating systems.

As always, StudioTax is made available FREE for personal use and regardless of level of income. NO questions asked, NO registration, NO key, and NO activation.

Continue reading “StudioTax 2013 is now available”

Calibre upgraded to 0.9.40 from 0.9.36

Here are the new features of the following release.

New Features of 0.9.40

  • EPUB Output: Add an option to insert an inline Table of Contents into the main text.
  • Driver for LG Android phone
  • When matching books in the library against the device manually, pre-fill the search field with the book title

New Features of 0.9.39

  • Bulk metadata edit: Add a checkbox to prevent the refreshing of the book list after the bulk edit. This means that the book list will not be resorted and any existing search/virtual library will not be refreshed. Useful if you have a large library as the refresh can be slow.
  • Allow manually marking a book in the calibre library as being on the device. To do so click the device icon in calibre, then right click on the book you want marked and choose ‘Match book to library’. Once you are done marking all the books, right click the device icon and choose ‘Update cached metadata’
  • Driver for Coby Kyros MID1126
  • When adding formats to an existing book, by right clicking the add books button, ask for confirmation if some formats will be overwritten.
  • Add a tweak to restrict the list of output formats available in the conversion dialog. Go to Preferences->Tweaks to change it.

Continue reading “Calibre upgraded to 0.9.40 from 0.9.36”

Calibre upgraded to 0.9.36

Upgrade my Calibre to 0.9.36 from 0.9.33

New Features of 0.9.36

  • DOCX Input: Support for Table of Contents created using the Word Table of Contents tool. calibre now first looks for such a Table of Contents and only if one is not found does it generate a ToC from headings.
  • DOCX Input: Add support for images used as bullets in lists
  • DOCX Input: If a large image that looks like a cover is present at the start of the document, remove it and use it as the cover of the output ebook. This can be turned off under the DOCX Input section of the conversion dialog.
  • When dropping files onto the Book Details panel, ask for confirmation before adding the files to the book. The confirmation can be disabled.
  • News download: Add the ‘downloaded from’ link at the bottom of every article when using a touchscreen output profile (like the Tablet profile).
  • E-book viewer: Change the bookmark button to always popup a menu when clicked, makes accessing existing bookmarks easier.
  • After a bulk metadata download, focus the review button on the popup notification, instead of the OK button.

 

Continue reading “Calibre upgraded to 0.9.36”

A Chat Tool That’s Just Right For A Site – Chatwing

A site that focuses on selling products usually has a support center that its clients go to whenever they have a problem or a concern about a product they bought. However, since it uses a contact form, it may take days or even a week before it gets answered. This comes as a great turn-off for people who want to get their problems solved ASAP and as a result, they may even have to reconsider buying a product from that site again. This problem can be easily solved by setting Chatwing on the site.

chatnow

Chatwing is a live chat software intended for sites that are catering large volumes of traffic, but it works just as efficiently in other sites as well. Site owners can easily embed this chatting tool into their sites through simple procedures and the chatroom can hold a lot of people chatting inside it – it can occupy 7000 people at most.

Joining the chatroom is also hassle-free. Chatters can simply use their social media accounts (Facebook, Twitter, Google and Yahoo) to gain access to the chatroom. They can also use their Chatwing accounts or as sign in as Guests if they want to join anonymously. With the given options, clients won’t have to go through the hassle of registering an account to chat with the management.

Site owners are also able to modify the chatroom to give it a more personalized feeling or to fit with their site’s theme. This makes Chatwing much more noticeable for their clients or simply more appealing for them. But for whatever reasons, this nifty chatting tool simply looks better when it’s fully customized than not.

And to make sure no one is able to make a mess of the chatroom, the user must use Chatwing’s security functions. He can ban people out of the chat app and delete their messages with ease. Applying the word filter would make it even better as it can prevent the use of profanity. With these features, the chatroom is sure to be free of spammers, abusive people and other harassers.

Continue reading “A Chat Tool That’s Just Right For A Site – Chatwing”

Calibre upgraded to 0.9.33

Upgrade my Calibre 64bit to 0.9.33

New Features

  • PDF Output: Add an option to generate a printable Table of Contents (that lists page numbers). Useful if you intend to print out the PDF.
  • Replace the book counts in the choose library button and next to the virtual library button with the names of the current library and virtual library. The count information is now displayed in the status bar at the bottom.
  • When reviewing downloaded metadata, add a button to view the book being reviewed.
  • Get Books: Add SONY Reader Store (Australia).
  • For users running calibre from source, note that calibre has moved to using git for source control. See http://www.mobileread.com/forums/showthread.php?t=214465 for details

Continue reading “Calibre upgraded to 0.9.33”

Give your help to Alzheimer by donating your computing time

Here is a program called Folding@home.

It is pretty simple. Just download a program and install it on your computer. It will run in the background. The main job of it is to help scientists studying Alzheimer’s, Huntington’s, and many cancers by simply running a piece of software on your computer.

Look at the rotating DNA structure I am working on below:

foldingathome3d

The following are the description from the official site.

What are proteins?

Proteins are biology’s workhorses — its “nanomachines.” Proteins help your body break down food into energy, regulate your moods, and fight disease.

What is protein folding?

Before proteins can carry out these important functions, they assemble themselves, or “fold.” While protein folding is critical and fundamental to virtually all of biology, much of the process remains a mystery.

Continue reading “Give your help to Alzheimer by donating your computing time”

It is Tax Season again – Using Studio Tax

Every year we file our tax return to CRA. This year, I still recommend Studio Tax for the normal people. Normal people means, the people are not investor, not boss, not an officer. If your main income is from employment, Studio Tax is right for you.
It is the sixth year, I am using Studio Tax. It is a free software for personal use. Max 20 returns.
It is still early. So only pre-certified software can be download here.
When CRA review the software and make it certified, the you can update the software and make the return online.

Continue reading “It is Tax Season again – Using Studio Tax”

  • Archives