Here are more new standards for Wifi devices in the market. I still remember years ago, only 802.11 standards from 802.11b, 802.11g, and 802.11n for many years. Later 802.11ac was a lot of popular. Just a little bit later, 802.11ax is coming into my sights.

Almost when I saw 802.11ax standard on the router box label, I noticed there were Wi-Fi 5, Wi-Fi 4, and more. So today, I would like to get some digging into the information on the Wi-Fi standard. New Standards.

Wi-Fi Alliance is a non-profit organization that owns the Wi-Fi trademark.  Any manufacturers who want to use Wi-Fi on their products, need to get certified by them.

Wi-Fi Alliance made these names below:

Wi-Fi 4, 5, 6, 6e


Wi-Fi 4 is kind of the oldest products you can buy on the market.

Wi-Fi 5 and Wi-Fi 6 are the most popular on the market right now.

Wi-Fi 6E Just two wireless routers in


Wi-Fi 6 is very new. Wi-Fi 6E is the most recent. The government of Canada passed the rules for 6E in May 2021. So you can only find less than ten different products in the Canadian market.

Wi-Fi 6E brings Wi-Fi into 6GHz


  • More, contiguous spectrum. 6GHz
  • Wider Channels, HT160
  • Less interference


  • Gigabit speeds
  • Extremely low latency
  • High Capacity


You need Wireless AP (access point), or Wireless Router that supports Wi-Fi 6E, and you also need a mobile device support Wi-Fi 6E, then you can use 6GHz.

David Yin

David is a blogger, geek, and web developer — founder of If you like his post, you can say thank you here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *